Borough Insight

Elections result

Earlier this month elections were held for the county council and the position of Police & Crime Commissioner.

County Council
All 81 seats (divisions) on the council were being contended. Epsom and Ewell has five divisions.

These are now your representatives on the county council:

Epsom Town and Downs
Steven McCormick
Residents Association

Epsom West
Bernie Muir

John Beckett
Residents' Association

Ewell Court, Auriol & Cuddington
Eber Kington
Residents' Association

West Ewell
Jan Mason
Residents' Association

The overall result has a new council comprising

47 Conservatives
14 Liberal Democrats
4 Residents Associations of Epsom and Ewell
3 Independent
3 Farnham Residents
2 The Green Party
2 Residents for Guildford and Villages
1 Nork and Tattenhams Residents' Association
1 Labour
1 Ashtead Independent, working with Ashtead Residents
1 Dittons and Weston Green Residents
1 The Molesey Residents Association
1 Labour and Co-operative

Police and Crime Commissioner

Lisa Townsend (Conservatives) has been announced as the new Police and Crime Commissioner for Surrey.

She received 112,260 first preference votes in the PCC election. She was elected on second preference votes, after no candidates received more than 50% of first preference ballots.

If you want to get in touch with the Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner email -
The Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner is a separate entity to Surrey Police. To report a crime or contact Surrey Police, please call the non-emergency police number on 101 or in an emergency dial 999.



No comments have been left for this article

Have your say...

Your name will be published alongside your comment but we will not publish your email address.

All comments will be reviewed by a moderator before being published.

Please ensure you complete all fields marked as mandatory.