Borough Insight

Ruxley by-election

Ruxley ward in West Ewell has three seats on the Council, at present all three are held by the Residents Association. Due to a change in personal circumstances, Councillor Keith Partridge has resigned as the councillor for the ward. The resignation has triggered a by-election.

Four individuals have now come forward to stand as councillor, these are (in alphabetical order):

  • Alex Coley, Residents Association
  • Julia Rose Kirkland, Liberal Democrat
  • Themba Msika, Labour
  • Stephen James Pontin, Conservative

The by-election will take place in half term week on Thursday 15 February. The polling station will be at Epsom & Ewell High School, Ruxley Lane, West Ewell, KT19 9JW.

As well as the actual polling day, the other dates you need to be aware of are:

  • last date to register to vote in person  (if you are not already registered): Tuesday 30 January.
  • the deadline for postal vote applications is by no later than 5pm, Wednesday, 31 January. Postal votes will be sent out by 1st class post around 1 February and we expect them to arrive by 6 February.

  • the deadline to appoint a proxy is by no later than 5pm, Wednesday, 7 February. If after 5pm on 7 February you become unwell, or for work reasons cannot vote in person, the deadline to appoint an emergency proxy is 5pm, Thursday, 15 February. Contact our elections office on 01372 732000 for more information on how to arrange an emergency proxy.

Formal documentation and more details can be viewed on the by-election page on our website - here


No comments have been left for this article

Have your say...

Your name will be published alongside your comment but we will not publish your email address.

All comments will be reviewed by a moderator before being published.

Please ensure you complete all fields marked as mandatory.